Marvel’s Infinity Stones – What are they? Where are they?

Infinity Stones are a big plot thread running through almost all Marvel movies since the beginning. The wonderful people at Marvel debuted an exclusive first-look at Avengers: Infinity War at D23, and the teaser saw the Mad Titan wreaking all kinds of havoc. By the trailer’s end, Thanos was a few steps closer in assembling the entire Infinity Gauntlet, and the tool’s power allowed the villain to throw an actual moon at another planet.

So what are infinity stones..

“Before creation itself, there were six singularities, then the universe exploded into existence and the remnants of this system were forged into concentrated ingots… Infinity Stones.”
— Benicio Del Toro in Guardians of the Galaxy

Over the course of 16 MCU films, we have been introduced to five of the six infinity stones. In the comics, Thanos acquires all 6 of them, placing them on his glove (now called the Infinity Gauntlet) and becomes the most powerful being in the Universe.

Each stone is powerful in it’s own right and the idea of them coming together and in the hands of Thanos gives us serious chills. Let’s see where are the 6 Infinity stones in the Marvel Universe now.

Tesseract – The Space Stone

The blue stone is capable of transporting anything from one point to another. The Tesseract was introduced in the Thor post-credits scene, and was featured heavily in Captain America: The First Avenger and The Avengers.  It was last seen at the end of Avengers when Thor took it back to Asgard for safe-keeping in Odin’s vault.

Aether – The Reality Stone

The Aether is not actually a stone (or we haven’t seen it yet as one) but a red liquid. What its exact power is remains unknown, but it was almost used to physically alter the nature of reality itself. The Aether was introduced in Thor: The Dark World, and it was given to Taneleer Tivan, a.k.a The Collector, in the post-credits scene.

Orb – The Power Stone

This stone was first seen in  Guardians of the Galaxy, when intergalactic pirate Star-Lord procured the Orb in an ancient temple on the long dead planet Morag. The Power Stone grants unlimited destructive capabilities to its owner, enough to destroy an entire planet. The Orb is currently under the protection of the Nova Corps – most prestigious police force of the galaxy, who reside on the planet Xandar.

The Mind Stone


The Mind stone first appeared to us in The Avengers, though it wasn’t until Avengers: Age of Ultron we learnt that the infinity stone was hidden inside Loki’s scepter. The mind stone lets the owner control the minds of others. Eventually, it is freed from the scepter and was used in the creation of a powerful sentient android, Vision, that had the stone embedded on his forehead.

Eye of Agamotto – The Time Stone


The Time stone appears in the 2016’s Doctor Strange and allows one to control the flow of the space-time continuum. It was acquired by the first Sorceror Supreme, Agamotto, and placed inside a pendant, which then became known as the Eye of Agamotto. The Eye is kept hidden and safe inside the ancient library of Kamar-Taj, home of the Masters of the Mystic Arts.

Soul Stone

Soul Stone is yet to be introduced in the MCU. In the comics, the soul stone is a somewhat sentient creature that could trap souls inside another world. We are almost certain that it will appear in Thor: Ragnarok movie releasing in Nov. 2017 before we begin the Infinity Wars arc in May 2018.  A popular fan theory is that the stone is in the possession of Hela, the villain for Thor: Ragnarok. We will just have to wait and see!



1 Comment

Leave a Reply